To SAT or not to SAT

This is a touchy subject for me. I have never, nor will I ever be, an excellent standardized tester. It is not a lack of focus, just a lack of drive possibly. I find taking tests such as these the equivalent of going to the dentist, but the dentist cleaning your teeth is one of those talkers who knows very well that you can’t answer any of their questions due to the metal instruments they are poking around your mouth with, yet the continue to ask you how your summer is going. Four hours of answering questions on stuff I did in 7th grade as well as stuff I have not yet seen in my 16 year old life is more of a test of my patience, not so much my intelligence. Can someone please explain the evidence that the SAT provides to colleges that proves our preparedness to become challenged and worldly students? Maybe then I will happily buckle down in my seat and fill out the ridiculous pre-information bubble sheet with a huge smile on my face, whistling “I’ve Got the World on a String”. Until then, I am a crotchety old man throughout the entire test. I just can’t see the connection. I an top 5 of my class, in 4 AP classes, with a part time job and captaining two sports teams. Yet my SAT scores were below my friends taking all level 1 classes and  no extracurricular activities. How is this disconnect possible? And how do colleges perceive this? College Board  helps somewhat, but hearing real college students explain might help best. How much does your individuality play into college acceptance? And how does a standardized test inform college of a student’s academic potential? Please ponder (and comment).

Leave a Reply

