“An eye for an eye will only make the whole world blind.” ― Mahatma Gandhi

Fighting is fun, when outside of domestic life. Bruises and battle scars are bad ass, and good fights make for even better stories. However, verbal fights; not so bad ass.  Especially with someone close to you. Words flung and tears spilled can often be easily forgotten. But sometimes they can’t. I don’t claim to be perfect. I’m intense (especially for a 16 year old), obsessed with Lysol, occasionally extremely grumpy on an empty stomach, and, at times, introverted to the point of concern. But I don’t believe that I should be reprimanded for such qualities. I’m young and inexperienced. Being chastised will not make me better. And as I was standing there, completely vulnerable, taking the abuse being inflicted upon me by someone I was sure would never dare to, I has an Ah-Ha moment. “An eye for an eye will only make the world blind”. I would not turn the hate back. Even though there was a total lack of respect, patience, and tolerance towards me; I would show just those qualities back. I would not turn back the hate. Even though I was not allowed to speak with passion or emotion without it being taken as sarcasm and attitude, I would remain calm. I would not turn the hate back. We cannot control other people that we share our world with. We must find an inner peace, a contentedness, a state of mind that is open yet passive. We cannot turn back hate. It must pass through our minds like clouds passing by a mountain.  I will forgive but not forget. I will let those clouds keep rolling.

Leave a Reply

