Nigerian Dreams

I have always wondered what Nigeria is truly like. Author Adichie does an amazing job of capturing both the beauty and the devastation faced in the country. However, I have never been able to witness this through my own eyes. And this saddens me. Why not just go visit, you ask? Well, why not just hop on a plane over to Iran right now?

Nigerians are not fond of Americans. Even being half Nigerian myself, I would not easily be accepted in most areas. The history of the country and its relation to America, as well as the state of chaos within society and government there, prevent me from visiting anytime soon.

I hope not for forever.

I long to get to the roots of my culture. I long to see long lost family.

It plagues me, to see a country in pain.

Comment if you agree.

2 thoughts on “Nigerian Dreams

Leave a Reply

